Anthony S., “Raised By”

I was raised by Anita Santos
Kit Melzer and Joey Santos
People that has always been there for me
People that I will always be there for

I was raised by Palethorp Street and Lehigh Avenue
Two streets that define where I am from
Two streets where drug dealers and crackheads are on both corners
Two streets with abandoned and knocked down houses

I was raised by Waterloo and Mascher parks
Two parks that influenced my NBA dream
Two parks that I have and had rivalries in
Two parks that I have friendships and relationships in

I was raised by basketball
A sport that has also influenced my NBA dream
A sport that I can take my anger and sadness out in
A sport that let’s people see the aggressive side of me

I was raised by Kensington
A place with a very bad reputation
A place that has been my home my whole life
A place I am determined to get out of

I was raised by the piano
An instrument that I can show my emotion in
An instrument that allows me to be myself in a beautiful way
An instrument that let’s people see the sensitive side of me

I was raised by fake gangsters
The type that says “You wanna rumble?” and then pulls out a gun
The type that when the gun is pulled out, the trigger is never touched
The type that when a friend is in trouble, the person says they were busy

I was raised by Philly

Anthony S., “Raised By”

Leave a Reply

