Najerah, “Raised By A Single Parent”

I was raised by a single parent
who grew up a little too fast
but who always made sure we had
and gave us her last

I was raised by a South philly queen
who was out in the world all alone
trying to give us a good home
With a heart built of stone

I was raised by a soul food cooker
who saw at every corner a bunch of hookers
selling their body for a bunch of crunchy dollars
and talked to every nigga that tried to holla’

I was raised by a “you gone go to school and be something” type of mother
A woman that raised me and my siblings to stick up for one another
A woman who raised me to work for what i want,
cause it won’t be handed to you

I was raised by a “you better tell me before someone else tell me” kind of mother
A mother who raised me to always follow my heart
and stay true to who i am from the start
A mother who got mad at me for saying “fallback, don’t smother”

I was raised by a courageous woman who worked
to become a great mother, but had little training
who parents abandoned her when they got irked
A young lady who had to grow up on her own and that became draining

I was raised by a single parent!

Najerah, “Raised By A Single Parent”

Leave a Reply

