Shaquan, “I Was Raised By TV”

Saturday mornings
Spoon in one hand
Bowl of cereal in the other
Body firmly on couch
Eyes glued to the screen
Power Rangers at 8am
I was raised by TV

The sun has set, The moon has risen
Late night TV has begun
The midnight hour
Clashing of egos
Searching for the lost
Resolve in times of uncertainty
Mystical new worlds
I was raised by TV

Facing impossible odds
With their own strength of will
Maybe with powers they were proud of
Or more than reluctant to use
No matter the cost
Protecting what is important
The lessons I learned will stay with me
I was raised by TV

Shaquan, “I Was Raised By TV”

Leave a Reply

